Nakhon Sawan
About Nakhon Sawan

Nakhon Sawan is a province in central Thailand.  It is located on the Alluvial plain with surrounded by forests in the west and the east.  There are 12 districts and 2 sub-districts – Mueang, Lad Yao, Ta Khli, Chum Saeng, Banpodphisai, Tha Tako, Phayuhakhiri, Phaisan, Nong Bua, Tak Fah, Krok Phra, Khaow Lieang, Mae Wong and Mae Peng.

How to go

There are several regular and air-conditioned busses running daily between Bangkok and Nakhon Sawan. For more information, please contact Bangkok’s Northern Bus Terminal (Mo Chit 2), tel. 66 2279 4484-7 (air-conditioned).

The Northern Line runs many times a day from Bangkok’s Hua Lumphong Station through Nakhon Sawan on its way to Chiang Mai. For more information, please contact the Travel Service Division at tel. 66 2223 7010, 66 223 7020


Wat Chom Khiri Nat Phrot

Wat Chom Khiri Nat Phrot is on the peak of Khao Buat Nak between the foot of Dechatiwong Bridge and Chiraprawat Fort. Legend says that when Burmese troops sacked Ayutthaya for the second time, they built this temple to show that they also hold the Buddhism faith.

Wat Chom Khiri Nat Phrot

Siriwatanawisut Temple

Buddhists and disciples' group of Rachapatikaram Temple, led by the deputy abbot Prathepmolee, joined in building the Sri Buddha Kaya Stupa on top of the Bodhisattva peak in Siriwatanawisut Temple of Nakhonsawan's Tha Tako district. The structure and artwork of the stupa is modeled after the Buddha Kaya Stupa in Bihar State of India. It is approximately 16 x 20 meter wide and 28 meters high, the number 28 representing Lord Buddha.

Siriwatanawisut Temple